diy solar

diy solar

Will My New System Work? You Tell Me!

Nova22

Complete Noob here who did some homework but looking for an expert to confirm my system will work before dropping the cash.

-4 x 275w Solar Panels

-Solar Inverter 24V DC to 230Vac, 24 V MPPT 3.2KW 24V Hybrid 80A.

-8 LifePo4 batteries 3.2 105A (series or parallel?)

-Not sure on the BMS needed, any suggestions?

I'm looking to add batteries in the future as well if this system will allow ( all I can afford for now) but simply just want to run a small cabin off grid.

Thanks for any feedback

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 3.46.29 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 3.46.29 PM.png
    295.2 KB · Views: 7
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 3.55.49 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-08 at 3.55.49 PM.png
    133.2 KB · Views: 6
-4 x 275w Solar Panels

If you look on your solar panels spec sheet, you should see two figures "Open Circuit Voltage (Voc)" and "Short Circuit Current (Isc)" Post those numbers here and we can make sure everything is well matched, but based on the size of your controller, it almost certainly is.

-8 LifePo4 batteries 3.2 105A (series or parallel?)
Series is your only option for 24v with 8 cells

-Not sure on the BMS needed, any suggestions?

Spend some time browsing the BMS subforum, lots of info there, and many people who have asked similar questions there and in the beginners forum. If your needs are simple and you don't need low temp disconnect the Daly BMS is a good basic BMS, this is a good option for beginners, as close to plug and play as you can get. But there is no one perfect BMS, you will find differing opinions and that a lot comes down to what your needs are.[/QUOTE][/QUOTE]

If you look on your solar panels spec sheet, you should see two figures "Open Circuit Voltage (Voc)" and "Short Circuit Current (Isc)" Post those numbers here and we can make sure everything is well matched, but based on the size of your controller, it almost certainly is.