diy solar

diy solar

Wind Turbine Heating w/ Dump Load

SSJ_7YL3R

Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to working with renewable resources, but I've done quite a bit of research in order to better understand the ins and outs of some of these things.

I had a quick question about the efficacy of a project idea of mine. This is my idea/goal in mind:

I have a shed that I want to heat during the winter, and I'd like to give an attempt at a renewable way of obtaining this heat. I don't need to power anything, just heat it. I know that when it comes to wind turbines, it is common to use a dump load in order to keep resistance on the turbine when there is excess power being generated. I also know that dump loads get warm when you run this excess heat to them. I am wondering if it is possible to run something like a 600W wind turbine directly into 2 300W dump loads, or something similar, in order to try and generate heat for this shed. I figure the more watts, the more heat most likely, so if I had 1200W in wind, and 4 300W dump loads, I'd theoretically generate double the heat. Anyway, is this possible? Do I need other equipment like a charge controller in order to run the power to these dump loads (ie from the turbines, to the controller, to the dump load), or can I run this all in parallel directly from the turbine to the dump loads?

I appreciate any advice someone can give on this topic. I'd like this system to be simple, and cost effective.

One other question, will I be likely to generate more heat with multiple, small dump loads, or fewer, bigger ones? Or would it even make a difference if they were running in parallel anyway?

Thanks again!

Do I need other equipment like a charge controller in order to run the power to these dump loads (ie from the turbines, to the controller, to the dump load), or can I run this all in parallel directly from the turbine to the dump loads?