diy solar

diy solar

Winston 260Ah vs EVE 280Ah

Adrian R

Hi,

I just read the specs - Winston LiYfePO4 260Ah is about 9 kgs
EVE LiFePO4 280Ah only 5.2 kgs?

Yes, EVE is cheaper

But is it worth the price difference vs quality drop?

Has anyone made a comparison test?

Hi Adrian,

Welcome to the forum ☀️

I too would like to see a comparison test of Winston LiYFePO4 and EVE LiFePO4 cells

EVE cells seem reliable if operated within parameters, but probably much higher incidence of manufacturing defects than Winston. Full disclosure I have no hands on experience with EVE or Winston cells.

Winston cells are like spaceship to me
EVE cells are like strong horse to me

maybe none of this makes sense, hopefully your project goes well ??

Reactions: Joo
thank you!

i have been using Winston for 3 years now (8 pieces of 400Ah) on an Electrodacus sbms120 cc
very pleased with them. but they are expensive

i am considering EVE for new projects, price is very tempting but not sure of their quality!

Ten years ago I bought seventy five 100 Ahr Winstons for a VW conversion project. I sold the car a few years later and the batteries were working fine. Back then the price was almost $400 per kWh.

with the EVE 280Ah cells it is important to have a sound plan for the terminals.

they are made out of aluminum and many people have reported issues with getting enough force to adequately hold the busbar against the terminal for lower resistance, while at the same time not causing the (relatively) soft aluminum terminal to deform too much. that is the primary factor in why i have avoided purchasing EVE or lishen or whatever brand 280Ah cells. the terminal connection aspect. this lead me to the 100Ah Frey cells because of the stud connection, it allows me to be very unintelligent (relatively speaking) while connecting.