diy solar

diy solar

Wiring up my AWD lifted Toyota Sienna - please tear apart my first ever wiring diagram before I burn it down

carmensandiego

Sienna electrical.png

Hi everyone,
I've been lurking for a while but this is my first post!
My boyfriend and I are building up our 2013 AWD Toyota Sienna. So far, we've installed a 3.5" lift, insulation and the subfloor. Now I've been put in charge of the electrical planning. I've never done any electrical work before, so tear apart this diagram before I burn our van down :)

Note: the diesel heater is intentionally bypassing the low voltage protection - the heater can melt down if the power is disconnected before it can complete it's 10 min cool down cycle.

I do have a couple questions:

1.) How do I size the ground wires? Same size as the corresponding positives?

2.) Should I be using a bus bar instead of attaching 3 wires directly to the battery terminals?

3.) Does anyone have recommendations for a good/cheap battery monitor?

Thank you!!

Positive and negative wires for the same device should be the same size.

Sizing wires is based on length, voltage and expected amps. Plug those three numbers into the calculator below to get the gauge you need. The goal is to have less than 3% drop.

Ideally, for a tidy wiring arrangement, a set of common bus bars are recommended. The fuse on the positive wire from the battery will go between the battery and the positive bus bar.

I'm not a fan of using an ANL immediately downstream of the battery. A Class T fuse is a better fuse for that position.

I don't see a shunt in your diagram. How are you planning to know the state of charge of the battery? Good and cheap aren't always found in the same product. There are a few members using a cheap hall monitor. I use a Victron BMV-712, but that's more expensive than you're looking for.