diy solar

diy solar

10 kva hybrid solar inverter trips during switchovers

DRSWAPNIL

Hi, I am an eye doctor from india and have landed myself in a soup. Need some help.
We recently got a 3 phase hybrid solar system installed. The inverter is a solar hybrid Zeta 3 phase model by UTL, 18 solar panels of 540 watts each and 10 lead acid batteries for power backup. The system works great most of the times with good generation and good backup but there is a scenario which is causing us grief.
We have 3 1.5 tons split ACs (air conditioners) installed on this system. At any point of time a max 2 ACs run and during power outage we try to limit to 1.
The system can support 2 ACs without any problem when the state power (board power) is not working. The ACs start normally and run well. Each AC draws something like 6-6.5 amps of current.
When board power is also there, there is no issue.

We are having issue when the board power turns of due to any reason. For a split second when the state power gets cut off, the current draw of the AC increases from 6-6.5 to something like 30 amps. This triggers the inverter to a fault and it cuts the power off.
We have tried to install voltage stabilisers for 1.5 or 2 ton AC inbetween the AC and the solar hybrid inverter but to no avail.

https://www.upsinverter.com/product/zeta-hybrid-solar-pcu-10kva-120v/

this is the inverter and its running in Smart hybrid mode.

The installation person is not able to help at all. The manufacturer of the inverter is also not helping at all.

I dont mind the AC remaining off for say 1-2 mins once the state board power is off. All I need is for the hybrid inverter to not go into fault mode. All of my ACs are single phase ones.

I have attached a small video showing whats happening. Hope it helps. Any help would mean a world to me. Thanks

Attachments

• WhatsApp Video 2024-06-02 at 9.05.57 PM.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 1