diy solar

diy solar

Charging my Eco-Flow River 370 ?

bassplayer

First off, total newbie here. Just bought an Eco-Flow River 370 and am really happy with it Rather than buy their solar panel solution, I picked up a 180w 17v 10.5amp panel and am trying to figure out if I can connect the solar panel directly into the River 370, sticking with a 12v charging solution. (we have a ton of sun here in SoCal) Cable-wise I'd connect the wires from the solar panel into a 12v female cigarette lighter connection. Then I'd connect the cable the River 370 comes with.... cigarette lighter male to USB-c for charging. My big question: does the River 370 have the electronics built-in for this or do I need to go more traditional ? BTW their USB-c is rated at 6ow 20v

Ok, what I tried to do in my post was not good at all. I blew out my fuse on the 12v charger cable. So I'm going to try going from solar panels to a 12v dc to dc converter and then to an a/c inverter. Guess I'll have to charge my River 370 from the inverter but maybe that's the best way to go.

Ok, what I tried to do in my post was not good at all. I blew out my fuse on the 12v charger cable. So I'm going to try going from solar panels to a 12v dc to dc converter and then to an a/c inverter. Guess I'll have to charge my River 370 from the inverter but maybe that's the best way to go.
Doesn't the River have a built in solar charge controller?
Why are you trying these wacky ideas?
Just plug the panel in where and how you would plug any panel in.
You dont have to use their panel.

I suspect you are confused about the 12V panel designation.
17 volt is a so called 12V panel as that is what they put out.

Last edited: