diy solar

diy solar

Need some ideas on off-line/off-grid remote monitoring.

PhiPhi

Background:
I've been using off-grid solar for about 2 years now, I have built my own battery packs and performed the installation of all related solar equipment myself. I have an abiding revulsion to any and all data harvesting applications especially those that offer no offline alternatives. Yesterday I had to install a new hybrid inverter and 2 new BMS's for my battery packs, this time I chose more expensive components compared to my last set up due to the potential for a wider support on the offline data collection side which was non-existent on the old set-up. The Invertor, batteries, etc. are located in an outbuilding 5 meters from the house. BTW I live in S.E.Asia where a lot of branded equipment is not available or beyond my budget once shipping and customs is taken into account.

Equipment:
1 x Growatt SPF 6000 ES Plus WiFI / CAN / RS485 / USB
2 x JK Smart BMS 8-24s 150A/300A max Bluetooth CAN/RS485

Requirement:
To have readily available real-time and historical data accessible from my laptop running LinuxMint (able to change distro if required).
Ideally I'd like the data to be transmitted via a dedicated secure WiFi network but cables can be run if necessary.
Ability to change equipment parameters remotely.
Ability to backup/export historical data into CSV / XML or other common format.

Nice to have:
Flashy charts and graphs are nice to have but not essential at this stage
I could also see control triggers being useful i.e. controlling a relay to the immersion heater once batteries reach a certain % of charge.

Summary.