diy solar

diy solar

Need stand alone system for 12V solar fridge

longbowelk

I am new to solar and this forum. I am retired but find this forum very interesting. I have an off grid cabin that is a week end plus getaway. My contractor friend and I recently installed the EG4 12K btu off grid minisplit that runs on 3 solar panels. I will post this one later. The subject today is I also set up a 10.3 cu ft 12V solar Unique fridge. We ran it 4 days alternating a 1000W Jackery and a 65 series AGM truck battery with 850cca. The Jackery did better than the battery as it would run it around 23 hours. The battery averaged about 12 to 14 hours.
The fridge only uses 56 watts when compressor is on. When I got back home I tested the 2 100W solar panels in full sun and was getting 124 watts. My next test on my next trip us to add a 12 ft 12ga extension and see if the Jackery and panels can run it . This system us temporary as I want to have a permanent system with a small charge controller and possibly 1 panel.
I am looking for recommendations and tips. Thanks, Alan

How simple or complicated do you want to get? From the sounds of it you could go as little as a 100ah LFP, a 40a MPPT and a set of 4x 100w panels and be good to go for a day. From there it's all about expansion. Want 3 days of backup? 3 batteries. Want to be able to charge it fully in winter? A couple more panels and a 60a MPPT. Want to have 120v power handy if you want it? A 12v AIO like the MPP 1012LV and a DIY 280 or 304ah battery in a small shed gets you 120v and 12v supply.