diy solar

diy solar

Off-the-Shelf CPap solar/power source?

Natty

Hi,

Thank you to anyone who provides help

I am going to be staying a couple nights with some Amish friends, and need a recommendation for an off-the-shelf portable solar power station for my CPap. Bluetti? Jackery?

I am a total novice here, but think Lithium Ion might be a good idea (?)​

Ok to buy them on Ebay?​
Adapter to run the CPap directly from the 12v power.... I assume?​

I hope to also use this at my off grid cabin for, CPap , and phone & battery charging.

Here is my CPap info:

IMG_4568.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

I searched to see if anyone had asked this exact question ,and had no luck. I am sorry if this is an old topic.

The switch to 24V CPAP sure made things harder, you either need a 24V battery or a 12V battery and a voltage booster.
Start by measuring the real power used by your machine, I doubt it’s 90W or you’d need 720WH per night.
If it’s going to be more than just the CPAP (there’s always feature creep) then a ‘portable solar power station’ will work, though they are pretty expensive they are also plug-n-play.

OK to buy anything on eBay is a personal preference. 🤷‍♂️ I try to avoid them, but then I buy stuff from AliExpress. 😁

Last edited:
How many days do you want to run it without recharging? I assume for a visit popping up a panel is out of the question. The need will be for about 130WH a night.

Which type machine do you have?

Assuming it is a resmed device they use around 260Wh per 10 your period with the heated tube and humidifier on. If you turn that off they use 70Wh per 10 hours.

The actual power required can be between 2 and 8 amps.

Check this thread for information

The guy I crew for road racing runs one off of an Ecoflow (I believe) with a folding panel to charge it during the day. He also uses it to charge the battery in the race car and run the high pressure air compressor (air shifter) and usually makes it through a weekend without running out of juice.