diy solar

diy solar

Should I be worried?

DBHunter

Greetings,
Total novice here, but have been reading these forums for months. Planning to convert my 1976 Trillium Trailer's fridge to a DC compression unit and have assembled the required battery/solar parts. Today I received my order of 4 Eve LF280k's from Amy at Docan. All show a voltage of exactly 3.25 however, as pictured below, one is rather swollen and upon further inspection, there appears to be some leakage under the vent of that cell. No visual damage that I can see. For what it's worth, I didn't find anything when I scanned the QR code.

Should I be concerned or am I overly cautious?

Thanks!
Greg

Attachments

• tempImagez2O7V3.png
    tempImagez2O7V3.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 49
  • tempImageL95B1t.png
    tempImageL95B1t.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 49
Well If you bought new cells, then they should not be swollen. Also if that vent is actually open/leaking under that seal, then yes you should be concerned. I would request a replacement of that cell.

I have swollen cells that work just fine from Sanben. I wasn't happy with them, but I wasn't going to throw them away or not use them either. They are sitting on and surrounded by ceramic fiber insulation and quarter inch cement board, with a CO2 fire extinguisher system and smoke alarms. Let her burn if she wants to.I've got a garden hose if the CO2 doesn't work. It's a 10 x 14 building 100 foot from the house, so no worries.

Is that mold from the hot humid weather or is that a blowout?

I have swollen cells that work just fine from Sanben. I wasn't happy with them, but I wasn't going to throw them away or not use them either. They are sitting on and surrounded by ceramic fiber insulation and quarter inch cement board, with a CO2 fire extinguisher system and smoke alarms. Let her burn if she wants to.I've got a garden hose if the CO2 doesn't work. It's a 10 x 14 building 100 foot from the house, so no worries.