diy solar

diy solar

Solar/Alternator with Genset

maynard7001

Hello everyone,

I am sure a similar situation has been discussed at some point, but I could not find my exact scenario/question. I thought I had posted something on this , but I could not find it.

I am new to solar, but have a fairly decent understanding of logic, and electrical systems. But I do have some gaps in my understanding.

I was asked to install a new cellular module/gateway (DSE890) to work with a DSE6020 MKII Genset. This module will allow the starting and stopping of a diesel Cummins generator from a remote location. The Generator powers all systems of an off grid trailer, but the client would like to shut the system down, and just start it up prior to people being on site mostly for climate control etc....
Currently the generator runs 24/7 - 365 days per year. Lets not calculate the fuel cost on that.
The Generator integrates electrically with the Cummins engine via a harness to alternator/battery, and the DSE890 cellular module communicates via usb to the Genset(DSE6020MKII). The DSE890 also has a +/- hookup for battery power.

There is currently a standard lead acid battery for starting the diesel engine.

The mission obviously is to be able to maintain a battery level in order to keep both the DSE6020 genset controller and the DSE890 cellular module powered while the generator is off, which could be weeks at a time, in order to allow remote starting.

The modules are using 100ma for the genset, and 700ma for the cellular module. These are peak power levels, likely during transmissions and startup.

I have already purchased and installed 2 x 100W Renogy solar panels with 20A MPPT charge controller. I have also purchased a 105AH AGM battery for the solar system, but have had second thoughts about the setup and have stopped here.

Questions: