diy solar

diy solar

Time to go Solar in central California.

Dandrews

First off, thank you Will for the great videos. Your presentation is excellent and direct. I've learned much about the current state of the solar world from your platform.
I am an architect with some sustainable design experience and I dearly want to cut the PG&E cord. My issue is that I am in a rural area with an all electric home. I've had a few local "Solar" guys come by and tell me that I can't go solar due to the amount of my power I use; or I can install dozens of panels and generate power for PG&E that they will graciously store for me. I do not wish to partner with PG&E, I want to get rid of them. My PG&E bill shows my daily usage between 25 KWH and 70 KW depending on the time of year. Some have suggested that I get propane to serve my water heater and range. To me, that's just another utility that sends me a monthly bill. I believe there is a solar power system out there that will take me to energy independence without mortgaging the house.
My electric water heater and electric range are killing me in energy consumption. My well pump is not so bad and I never use the electric heat (we have a wood burning stove that heats the whole house). Installing a solar water pre-heat unit is in the works as well as installing a hybrid water heater. There isn't much I can do about the range, but I can build an outdoor kitchen with solar ovens and a wood burning cooktop. That will take some of the demand off the electric range. I am also looking at some passive options to reduce my air conditioning demand.