diy solar

diy solar

A shared array is causing insulation resistance error? - Help diagnosing a weird project.

b34rb34r

I was a local sollar installer and I was called by a home owner for assistance when their solar system wasn't working and their installer couldn't solve it. This happens a lot around here.

So, they have installed an SMA 8kW sunnyboy inverter with 20 longi 455 panels in two strings (10 modules each). The inverter is showing error 3501, which is low insulation resistance error or grounding fault.

What baffled me is that, the installer took 6 modules from one string, connected them with Y connectors and is running a battery charger MPPT with them while all 20 modules are also connected to the SMA inverter. The charge controller seems to be working fine and charging the battery system well.

The wires coming from the 6 modules are directly connected to the MPPT charge controller too. No isolators, no grounding provided.

Now, I have never done anything like this simply because intuitively I assume that's not possible parallely, but if I were to do that, I would have made a switch so the owner can manually choose between On grid and off grid during load shedding.

But, is that the reason why the inverter is showing the grounding fault? Any thoughts are welcome, this is more educational for me than solving the actual problem to be honest.

Never heard of such a thing. MPPT is trying to track the Maximum power point and we have a separate controller trying to pull power from the same string. The installer took a set of parallel connectors and made a splitter out of them. Time to get those parallel connectors out and give the controller its own panels.

A PV panel can sometimes delaminate the plastic backing seal plastic at the edges of panel. Moisture can intrude the delamination and create a conductive electroylsis leakage path from the cells or their connections to aluminum frame of panel.