diy solar

diy solar

Advice please for SHW experiment

Joe1250

Hi all, newbie here looking for advice, thanks in advance!

I’m planning to try to create a DIY cheap solar hot water collector to use in a small greenhouse. I have 2 gas hot water tanks that I’m planning to use as my storage. I want to try to have them set horizontally rather than vertically and the plan is for it to be a very simplistic and cheap drain back system. I’m going to build a cheap collector for the roof and the hope is that the heat stored in the tanks will be enough to keep the spring night time temps in the greenhouse (or a small portion of it) above freezing if outside temps dip. I’m hoping just to be able to rely on convection or perhaps a small fan to draw air through the inner flu of the tanks and transfer the heat rather than an exchanger or pumping the hot water through lines?

First question is, am I totally wasting my time? Is this even feasible?

Second question is, do I need a dedicated drain back tank or can it just drain back into storage?

Third, is there anything I need to know with respect to pipe sizing for supply, collector and return lines?

Fourth, what if anything do I need to manage the air/vacuum in the system? I’m imaging something like a check valve that is closed when the system is running and opens when the system is off to allow air back in so the lines can drain?

Obviously I’m still new to this so ANY advice would be appreciated!

Many thanks,
Joe

I have something similar. I use 2 x 100 Litre ex electric water tanks plus a 50 litre top feed tank mounted upside down so it's open as a drain back tank. I have a hot water panel on the roof of a shed and all the tanks/pump etc. in the shed next to the greenhouse. The 100 litre tanks are in series so effectively 200L storage.

I have 2 heating systems, one is underfloor heating, the other is a home made fancoil (from an old air conditioning system).