diy solar

diy solar

Balancing aged AGM battery pack

Nathan Barnard

Looking for advise on matching and/or removing weaker batteries to maintain this battery pack.

I've been using it as is for the last two years. I has been performing well with daily discharges of 500-600ah @24v, it has stayed balanced up until recently. The lower side is dropping off much quicker than upper side. I regularly pull 250amps from it (for electric oven or clothes dryer) and charge around 100amps with solar.

Yesterday I charged both sides up to 14.2v and held them there overnight, then this morning I disassembled and tested each battery on a digital CCA load tester, marking down the cranking amps and internal resistance. I put it in a spreadsheet to try to figure out which batteries I should switch to balance average resistance and CA on pack (so they would discharge and recharge equally). I'm not sure if this is the best way to balance a pack for longevity, or even what a high resistance, low state of health battery does to a pack. Perhaps I should be eliminating those batteries altogether?

Specs:
26x Eaton Powerware 12v 390W VRLA AGM batteries, forming two strings in series of 13 batteries for 24v. (Appx 100ah 12v ea)

Ohms (Left 13 batteries)CAOhms (Right 13 batteries)CA
12.4​
300​
13.1​
280​
6.3​
585​
10.2​
365​
9.5​
395​
6.8​
550​
5.5​
675​
11.7​
315​
12.1​
305​
11.1​
335​
11.6​
320​
6.7​
560​
8.2​
455​
11.3​
330​
8.3​
450​
5.8​
645​
7​
530​
4.9​
750​
7.4​
505​
11​
340​
10.9​
340​
11.1​
335​
13.7​
270​
6.7​
555​
5.1​
735​
7.6​
490​
average Ohms 9.1
5865​
average Ohms 9.1
5850​
TOTAL CATOTAL CA
Lower 12vUpper 12v

Attachments

• 20230312_094831.jpg
    20230312_094831.jpg
    387.9 KB · Views: 14
As you have discovered, there's an inverse correlation between IR and CA. I assume you're reporting mΩ or mR values and not actual Ohms.

Indicates 3mΩ internal resistance. Batteries pushing 2X or more this value may be ending their useful life.