diy solar

diy solar

Battery Charger to Charge Controller

Hosstyle

I'm a super noob and very broke so I'm looking at "work with what I've got" solutions. I have a 12V LIFEPO4 battery and would like to setup a backup (wall power) charging option. I inherited a Drok-like variable voltage bench charger. It's 10 amps, so for my 12v system, I'm charging @ 14.4volts X 10 Amps. This is sloooooow.

I also have a spare Epever charge controller and am thinking to set the bench charger to say, 60v and feed it into the charge controller (well within voltage range), with the now higher amperage 14.4v output charging the battery over suitable awg cabling.

Any obvious issues I'm missing? Anybody doing something like this?

Here is a response from the founder of MidniteSolar:

I'm a super noob and very broke so I'm looking at "work with what I've got" solutions. I have a 12V LIFEPO4 battery and would like to setup a backup (wall power) charging option. I inherited a Drok-like variable voltage bench charger. It's 10 amps, so for my 12v system, I'm charging @ 14.4volts X 10 Amps. This is sloooooow.

I also have a spare Epever charge controller and am thinking to set the bench charger to say, 60v and feed it into the charge controller (well within voltage range), with the now higher amperage 14.4v output charging the battery over suitable awg cabling.

Any obvious issues I'm missing? Anybody doing something like this?
It sounds like you want to up the voltage on the Drok so that you can up its power output about 4x. Is that correct? Sounds like a great idea to maximize what you have available. That would effectively give you 60V output at 10A on the Drok and 600W charging instead of 150W charging out of the charge controller. Since it is the same current output on the Drok, you shouldn't need different cables for it. Like you said though on the charge controller output you will need 8ga stranded copper cable at least.