diy solar

diy solar

Charge Controller

njoelhickson

Hello everyone. I am very new to solar and I am working on building my first array. I purchased 10 used 250w panels from San Tan Solar. The panels have not yet shipped but I am estimating the expected output on the low end at about 210 watts per panel for a total of 2100 watts. The formula I have seen for charge controllers is wattage (2100) divided by the voltage of the battery bank (I expect to go with a 24v system). That gives me a total of 87.5 amps. So I believe that I need a 100 am charge controller. Is that accurate?

Any other information that you are willing to share with me would be most welcome. I have been quoted about $500 for a K2 rack system so that I can mount it up on my roof. Your thoughts on that would be appreciated as well. Is there a better bang for my buck when it comes to a rack system or is K2 the way to go, and is that a decent price?

I intend to start out simple. Probably a couple of AGM automobile batteries and an off grid setup in my garage that I hope to expand over time into a grid tie system that will provide power to my entire home, but I want to start out simple and grow as I learn more.

Thank you.

Hello everyone. I am very new to solar and I am working on building my first array. I purchased 10 used 250w panels from San Tan Solar. The panels have not yet shipped but I am estimating the expected output on the low end at about 210 watts per panel for a total of 2100 watts. The formula I have seen for charge controllers is wattage (2100) divided by the voltage of the battery bank (I expect to go with a 24v system). That gives me a total of 87.5 amps. So I believe that I need a 100 am charge controller. Is that accurate?
Thank you.

Looks good. Which charge controller were you looking to get?

Wish i could help you on the racking. There must be many threads on here about the subject. I have simple wood racking, attached to L brackets. With threaded rod in the rock