diy solar

diy solar

EG4 18k solar layout help.

doatopgun

I am new to this, but very interested in learning. I have tried to hire multiple people in my area to help, but nobody has responded. I have been searching, reading, and watching YouTube, but the last of my solar panels go up next weekend and I want to make sure I'm not messing up with the layout of the solar panels.

https://signaturesolar.com/content/documents/CS-Datasheet-HiKu6CS6R-MS-HL_v1.1.pdf. One powerpro 14k, plan to add two more soon.

I have one array of 12 of these panels facing south. I will have one array of 14 of these panels facing west if someone doesn't steer me differently. This includes 5 panels that haven't been mounted yet. I will have 4 panels left after the installation that can't face west. My higher usage would be in the late afternoon. Nothing has been wired yet.

Arkansas, so it rarely goes below 0. My arrays are less than 30 feet away from the 18k. Not really worried about selling electricity back to the power company. I would like to maximize my setup to be the best it can be, though.

From what I have read, my situation isn't optimal. Should I go 7, and 7 in parallel for mppt1? Then 6 and 6 on mppt2 and mpp3? I haven't found yet how important getting the voc higher is.

Brandon

12 south, 14 west, and 4 left.
6+6, and 7+7 assume there is nothing wonky about the exposure. Shading, and other factors that make Panel A output different from Panel B, will affect the ability to parallel non-identical strings.

> I haven't found yet how important getting the voc higher is.

As long as you are in the operating range of the MPPT, meet the min voltage for the inverter, and do not exceed the max voltage of your mppt/inverter (VOC, adjusted), you are fine.

Can you mount the remaining 4 panels facing east? That will get you some production in the morning.

Thank you for your response! Very good info! Last question