diy solar

diy solar

Electrical engineer with solar experience for hire. Traveling southern USA & intermountain west.

Dennis_L

Hi, glad to see Will created this subsection for the forum. Thank you Will!

My name is Dennis latyshev, I have designed and built several small scale off grid solar power setups for the skoolie/ Vanlife / rv crowd. Under 1kw solar. I have my own skoolie that I live in full time and am fully self sufficient off grid with 1.2kw solar.

I have limited experience with larger systems, but have partnered with a friend to take his house off grid in 2023 with an 18kw system. I intended to develop more experience with design and installation of larger systems.

I do not have a contractor license but am seriously considering getting certified in the state of New Mexico if there is a career path and enough available work doing on grid or off grid solar for paying customers.

I am an electrical engineer by trade with a decent amount of my own tools, (oscilloscope, multi- meters, crimping tools, amp clamp, meger, CT testers / calibration equipment. )

Though most of my work experience has been in industrial automation, I am knowledgeable about most AC and DC electrical systems, I have dismantled and repaired my own inverters, VFD's, and ESC's for work or as my own hobby. I am familiar with all components that make a functional solar setup and look forward to building more and larger systems.

For now I am offering my help/service for anyone who is doing an exclusively DIY setup and is assuming the risk associated to their property.

I am traveling all over the southern (Texas) and western US in 2023, I would be interested to meet other off grid solar enthusiasts and offer my help with their project as additional labor, design work, producing schematic drawings, etc.

If you are interested in hiring me or could use my services please contact me though this forum.
We can discuss your project and decide a fair rate for the work you need done.