diy solar

diy solar

GroWatt SPF 5000 - some questions

david47

Hello,
I am just beginning my research into what parts I need to buy for my future solar system, and came across SPF 5000 inverter. Could someone please verify that it's an appropriate inverter for the following scenarios:

1. Inverter + LiFePO4 batteries
-have the inverter charge the batteries using grid energy at a specific time of day (say a 5 hour window), and then use the energy stored in the batteries for the remaining 19 hours. If battery energy runs out, need the grid to take over the house loads, but not charging the batteries outside the set timeframe. Generally want the inverter to charge the batteries up to a max of 85%, and discharge to the minimum of 20%

2. Inverter + LiFePO4 batteries + solar
-have the inverter charge the batteries using primarily solar, and grid as secondary option. Once the batteries are full, have the solar energy routed directly to the house, never back to the grid. Still keeping the same requirement as in the first scenario though, which is charging the batteries through the grid only in the said 5 hour period.

As I understand, SPF 5000 is the correct inverter for the job?

......get SPF 6000 ES instead.
Be warned. Voltronic is the major OEM for all those MPP, Growatt, EG etc.....except Victron.
All inverters produced by Voltronic utilizes the battery for its idle power consumption. It is not low, it is 50 - 75 watts.
Basically, you will lose 1 - 2 kWh in 12 hours just to power the inverter from the battery.
This is known as "the cost of doing business".

Hello,
I am just beginning my research into what parts I need to buy for my future solar system, and came across SPF 5000 inverter. Could someone please verify that it's an appropriate inverter for the following scenarios:

1. Inverter + LiFePO4 batteries