diy solar

diy solar

Ham friendly small (500W) 24V inverter recommendation needed

AlpineJoe

Solar Enthusiast
I've been playing with solar for about 30 years, but never made anything permanent. Looking for a recommendation for an electrically quiet 24V to 120VAC, ~ 500W inverter to power stuff that runs 24/7 (cable modem, router, access points, ubiquiti air links, PC running Blue Iris, security cameras, voip phone). Tired of paying the electric company $0.34/KWh all-in and would like to offload this continuous load.

Anyone have any recommendation for something that doesn't mess up the HF bands?

Going with 24V to reduce cable size, plus my MPPT controller is limited to 20A and would top out with my used 24V residential panels I already have. Batteries are 4 qty 100AH AGMs from a decommissioned network UPS.

Thanks

There is a similar thread on this forum here

Look for FCC Class B compliance ( not just inverter ), almost everything is noise hell for Ham electrically speaking. The mppt unit is especially important as it has long wires to the array. The Schneider XW-MPPT60-150 MPPT is one such unit.

Well, how about a refurbished APC UPS 1500 - $135 (no battery) - https://www.ebay.com/itm/304986878631 . They're 24v, quiet at 500w load, and have ~50w built-in charging. No problem to parallel in panels -> charge controller -> 24v battery. They need 120v to turn on easily, but if you take advantage of grid assist - e.g. leave it plugged in when grid is available - then this won't be an issue.

Last edited:
No recommendation, but you may be able to power the stuff directly with DC-DC converters.
I'm looking into that option to help with the conversion efficiencies. The Ubiquiti stuff is 24V, voip is 48V, PC is 120V, router, cable modem is 12V. So I'm up to 3 dc-dc converters and still an inverter for the PC. Will start with an inverter first as a lower cost of entry.

There is a similar thread on this forum here