diy solar

diy solar

How to properly ground system and other other newbie questions.

stranger

I want to preface this by stating that I’m brand new to anything solar and electrical so I appreciate any help with my questions. And forgive my ignorance in a lot of this.

Paying up to $0.50/KWh at peak times in my area was getting stupid expensive so I wanted to create a small off-grid system as a sort of proof of concept before building something bigger to try to lower bills.

I put together a EG4 6000ex and 2 LifePower4 batteries with 9 locally-sourced used 208W solar panels ($25 each.. decent deal right?). Output from the inverter is being fed through a separate 100A main AC panel--probably overkill I know. But I wanted to be able to use the main breaker as a sort of on/off switch when I’m not using the system. So far through the AC panel, I’m able to L2 charge a PHEV, run appliances (oven, fridge), and run various electronics—such as multiple TVs, computers, etc. I haven’t tried to max out capacity and run everything at the same time yet.

Here are my questions:
  • How do I properly ground this setup? I’ve watched Will’s videos regarding grounding on his setups but I’m still confused. My setup is completely off grid so no AC input connection. I have ground and neutrals separate in the AC panel. Am I supposed to create a N/G bond in there? I’m assuming there’s already a N/G bond in the inverter. Unless I’m using it wrong, my voltmeter confirmed there’s charge on the ground.
  • is it common to feel some kinda small shock/current when touching an inverter's control panel? I've noticed this on a couple of mornings and its a little concerning.