diy solar

diy solar

Need help with high level build architecture for 6x12 off-grid work trailer

gregtzar

Hey there fellow off-grid gang! I'm a software engineer and this is my first solar build. I'm converting a 6x12 offroad cargo trailer intended for full-time working and living. I'm a minimalist (living out of a suitcase for years). I am currently in the high-level architecture stage, and looking to spec out some basic design constraints for the system. Things like whether to go with 12v or 24v, and the minimum energy inputs and outputs I'll need for the battery bank, solar panels, charge controller and inverter. I'm hoping some people with more experience could help assess my situation and provide some general direction. I've outlined the essentail parameters below. Thanks!!

* Needs to power:
* Laptop, phone, device charging
* Starlink (current gen) (continuous)
* Vitamix (optional, will downgrade if this alone puts me in another energy needs class)
* Small DC water pump (for a kitchen sink)
* LED lights
* Fridge (continuous)

* Solar charging with backup gas generator charging
* Alternator charging (optional, possibly later from second dedicated alternator)
* Cooling system (optional, possibly later and willing to run from generator)
* Since this is a dedicated work station the primary goal is continuous power to starlink and laptop charging for 8-10+ hours/day
* The trailer will be static setup but its a mobile setup in that I can move/relocate the trailer easily and often
* For starlink I need to have a good line of site with open sky which also helps the solar
* I'm willing to use the roof of the trailer to mount panels, either onto the rack (which covers about 30%) or potentially directly onto the body. I'm also willing to have some or all of the panels which I can remove and sit on the ground.