diy solar

diy solar

Off grid system - School project

pfgiroux

Hi, I’m a electrical engineer student in Montreal.
I’m currently designing a solar panel system for a school project and will eventually install it. I need help with the choice of some equipment. I have 4x bifacial solar panels 370W and 4x battery lithium ion 12V (datasheets are in attach files). I will use the battery at 24V because I have equipment at this voltage and they will use around 1 kWh for a day of use. I want my system to be self sufficient so power my 24Vdc equipment and charge the batteries. The excess energy produced will be unload in a resistance bank. From my understanding, a mppt for 4 solar panel will cause problem with shading and a company from here told me that 4x microinverters (1 per pannel) don’t produce a voltage that is steady enough to supply a 120Vac/24Vdc converter/charger. So, if someone can enlighten me with this I would gladly appreciate it. Also, my first langage is french so don’t hesitate if you don’t understand something.
Thanks a lot !!

Attachments

• STA-PV72M-SERIE_EN_R01.pdf
    997.8 KB · Views: 5
  • Valence-U24-12XP-Data-Sheet-210623.pdf
    623.9 KB · Views: 5
Last edited:
The excess energy produced will be unload in a resistance bank
You mean running a heater?
Elsewise a SCC will just turn down panel loading - no excess energy dump needed.
From my understanding, a mppt for 4 solar panel will cause problem with shading
No, if shading is a problem do not run them in series, put them in parallel with an SCC that can process the amps. Or just don’t put them in a shading problem area.
and a company from here told me that 4x microinverters (1 per pannel) don’t produce a voltage that is steady enough to supply a 120Vac/24Vdc converter/charger.
You need a solar charge controller for a battery system, not microinverters.

What hardware are you planning? An all-in-one? You don’t need a converter-charger.