diy solar

diy solar

Portable Power Station reduces Portable Solar Panel to 12.2V and 6.6-7.2W

paullester

I'm new to Solar and I can't seem to find any information on this issue across the internet.

I have purchased:
Enginstar Portable Power Station with Wireless Charger, 350W/296Wh
and
Topsolar 60W Portable Solar Panel

They both work perfectly individually,
  • Power Station charges at 65W using the AC adaptor
  • Solar Panel generates about 40W in Full sun (18.5 Volts & 2.2 Amps)
When I connect them together, the Power Station reduces the voltage to 12.2V and about 0.72 Amps charging the Powerstation at about 6.6 - 7.2 Watts.

I've connected the Power Station to a static Solar panel and it charged at 55W.
I've connect the Solar Panel to a car battery and it charged it at about 30W.

So neither are broke, they just don't like each other.

Can anyone explain it?

I purchased a DC-DC Boost Buck Converter to see if it required consistant voltage and it was here that I could see the voltage drop from 18.5V to 12.2V just by plugging it into the Power Station.

Thanks in advance.

What is the watt rating of your "static solar panel" that you tested with?
Is the 12.2v you see the input drop to, is that the current battery voltage?

Maybe you can make tests at lower battery levels? Specially when the battery is low. Perhaps then you get better results?

It appears as though the Topsolar "panel" actually has a charge controller built into its battery output.

>>
The build-in smart IC chip intelligently identifies your device, and maximizes its charging speed while protects your devices from over charging and overloading.
>>

So you have connected a charge controller (Topsolar) to another charge controller (in the power station) and they are confusing each other.
When I connect them together, the Power Station reduces the voltage