diy solar

diy solar

Questions on upgrading solar on travel trailer

Mcstiggens

Hello All,

I am just getting started here on the forum and with learning about upgrading my solar system. I have had some experience with hooking up a super simple system in my 4wheel Popup truck camper as well as building a DIY solar generator on wheels (from welding to wiring), all from scratch.
That said, I am going to sound like a real noob here because the scope of this project will prove to be much more advanced that what I have dealt with prior.

Here are the specs that I have to work with:

34' Grand Design Imagine 2910BH travel trailer with a 50 amp system which is "solar ready" and comes with one 165w panel and 25amp controller.

Here are my needs:

I plan to boondock and be 100% self reliant on power, using solar/battery/inverter to run my rig just as I would with shore power, preferably with little to no limitations. (Not necessarily concerned with running AC at this point though)
I will also be prepared to supplement with generator when necessary.

I mostly intend to run the furnace and 12V fridge on a regular basis as well as lights, peripherals etc.

I can fit and am planning for approx. 1650 watts worth of solar on the roof. I will not plan to achieve this all at first but it's the goal.

I plan to have 2 to 3 200 Ah LifePO4 batteries, totaling 600 Ah battery bank. (Preferably or most likely a 24V/48 system? That is where I start to get stumped.)

Here are my limitations:
Well, $$$ and time are the imitations.

I am having to move from my house and will be boondocking at my equipment yard.
So, I need to quickly set up a solar system with what I already have and what I can afford to purchase.

I don't have the time to save up for the fancy Victron MPPT controller/charger etc. that I would prefer to use and plan to purchase when I can afford it down the road.

Here is what I have purchased or already have on hand so far for the upgrade: