diy solar

diy solar

Replacing a bank of AGMs with LiFePO4s on a sailboat in Europe

sailing gal

Newbie here. I am looking for some advice, please? I have an American sailboat, with 5- 5 1/2 year old Lifeline 105 Ah AGMs that are basically now down to about 25% capacity. Multiple conditioning charges have not helped, and I am rather disappointed that they are failing so early given that I treat them extremely gingerly. So, I am looking at replacing them with a Lithium ion bank. The problem is... I am currently in Europe and if I were in the U.S. I would probably purchase the Battle Born batteries as drop in replacements. Here, I have located what looks to be the UK equivalent of the Battle Born batteries- Lifos: which are also drop-in substitutes for AGMs. I have spoken to them on the phone and they claim that I will have no issues with my charging system, my 100 Ah alternator on the engine, and the Wind generator and 400W of solar panels that I also have which are controlled with a Skye MPPT controller. But, we are talking about a fair amount of money for the 4- 105Ah batteries that I can connect in parallel. The Lifos are each about $250 more than the Battery Born. Meanwhile, I have a friend here who is a marine electrician who is telling me that I am being ripped off because I can buy lithium batteries with BMS systems so much cheaper from China. I am extremely hesitant to purchase a bunch of batteries from China, even though they claim to have similar BMS systems. Just wanting a second or third or fourth opinion, please?

Thank you in advance.

I replaced 4 dead lead acids with just one 24v LiPo4 which helped with costs, despite having half the rated capacity of the old batteries I am getting more power overall. I hesitate to reccommend the one I bought just yet though as I am not sure the BMS is functioning as it should and I am waiting for a reply from the seller.