diy solar

diy solar

Solar Dump tiny cabin

sun85

Hi There,

I have a Renogy Rover 40a MPPT controller charging 880a Lead acid batteries, with 700w of Renogy Solar panels.

Is there a way to wire in a Water Heater "dump load" to make use of excess solar?

if so what do i need to add or how do i change the settings if possible on the controller?

sorry im very new to all this, thanks in advance.

Doesn't come cheap I'm afraid

There may be other option though I am not sure

Hello and welcome to the forum!

There's a few threads about using excess PV to heat water but first we should talk a bit about your solar to battery ratio.

FWIW, from experience, I'll caution you might struggle to properly charge your batteries.

Generally speaking lead acid batteries in a cyclic application will do best with when they see amp of at least 10% of thier AH rating for charging. 880 AH x 10% = ~90 amps of charging.

What voltage is your system? How many batteries?

Last edited:
Hello and welcome to the forum!

There's a few threads about using excess PV to heat water but first we should talk a bit about your solar to battery ratio.

FWIW, from experience, I'll caution you might struggle to properly charge your batteries.

Generally speaking lead acid batteries in a cyclic application will do best with when they see amp of at least 10% of thier AH rating for charging. 880 AH x 10% = ~90 amps of charging.

What voltage is your system? How many batteries?
They are 110ah leisure batteries currently running 8 of them in parallel, and at 12v, im only running them down to 50% for obvious reasons.

system is powering a 80w wine cooler and 50w of fish pond equipment 24-7

I've aso wired in a Renogy 30a PWM which is controlling 300w of the system as all together it would be to much for my 1 MPPT controller

thank you for everyones replies

They are 110ah leisure batteries currently running 8 of them in parallel, and at 12v, im only running them down to 50% for obvious reasons.