diy solar

diy solar

Solar Fan for Gazebo

carpenterMike

We recently purchased a 12x16 aluminum gazebo. While the shade is nice, it would also be nice to have some airflow while lounging. I've been looking everywhere for a standard size ceiling fan that can run off of solar. I found one online but have zero success ordering or getting a hold of the company. The goal is to hook up a standard size fan and run off a couple solar panels with a battery for low sun days and in the evening. I am new to solar so I don't know what is possible versus a pipe dream. I've attached a link to the fan we would like to purchase. My questions is what would be required on the solar side to get this thing operational. I am a carpenter by trade so I'm not concerned with mounting anything, just concerned with the proper panels and set up for proper operating.

The fan we'd like to use:

https://gallerychandeliers.com/prod..._content=sag_organic&utm_campaign=sag_organic

I'm a beginner myself, but have a post (that no one answered either about a solar fan lol). I believe I understand how these things work now, and will let you know how I see it. The specs of that fan didn't list the watts or voltage only that the fan runs on DC.

You want to look for a 12v or 24v DC ceiling fan (doesn't have to be solar, just 12v or 24v DC). I learned you can't connect direct to a solar panel (unless the item plugged in can handle multiple voltages) as solar panels put out all sorts of voltages depending on the current sunlight. In the morning without much sun your 12v panels may be putting out only 8v. As the sun rises, so does the voltage and at noon your 12v panels might be outputting 17v+ and as the sun goes down so does your panels voltage. Since the voltage varies we need something to stabilize it. We have 2 options.