diy solar

diy solar

Solar noob sparky questions

NoPlaceLikeOhm

Hi,
I'm located in California (north Bay Area/Napa) PG&E and looking into solar.

I'm a licensed electrician (not active) and thinking about re-activating my license to do my own house. I never did solar, or residential (minus a few houses for friends) electrical.

I'm likely to use a design company to package up the planning/permiting/ submittal stuff, because I'm out of the loop and I do better with line diagrams and tools. I'm not a Hobbiest, nor do I want to tinker with it. I want to install it and be done, so I can get to the next item on my wife's list. :)

My questions for those in NorCal/PG&E are regarding the battery sizing to Number of panels and combined with a stand-by generator. I didn't really want to mess with batteries, but I'm understanding it has to do with the PG&E/grid connection makes it more worthwhile.

Given my recent quote from Renvu, for a 28 (480 watt) panel system (Enphase based) I'd like to minimize to only the necessary # of batteries and scale up later if possible. It was about double of what I was expecting, but it's a 'full system' racking/controllers/combiner/comms kit/micro-inverters/connectors a 5KwH battery/lumin smart panel. Which frankly, I don't know that most of that does. I thought I knew how to wire stuff too. ;)

If there's anyone who has been through the diy solar in or close to my area I'd love to hear about your experiences with your project.

Thanks for any info.

Since you are doing it yourself, skip the enphase and go with an eg4 18kpv or solark 15k. Batteries will be way cheaper.

If you don't care about power when grid is down, then enough battery to store 1 day of production.

15kwh eg4 power pro is under $4,000, I think.

If you care about grid down, then 3 days of usage or a backup generator.

See if Napa is using SolarAPP+