diy solar

diy solar

Solar Production Exceed Load, Is Battery Used?

Anteclansing

Hi,

I am pretty new to DIY Solar and stuff. I'm just trying to look for the answer to this question:

Let's say I have an offgrid solar system with 1kw solar panels and some battery, but I'm pulling only 500w. I understand that I have 500w extra to either charge the batteries if they are not full or if they are full then they will just disappear. But the question I have is if I'm pulling 500w, does this 500w come from the solar panels -> battery -> load or does it come directly from solar panels. Does this use up my battery cycles? Thank you so much if you can help me to clarify this.

I’ll assume here that you are actually getting more than 500W of production from the panels. It is highly dependent on angle and weather conditions, and the nameplate on solar panels is optimistic.

In this case the batteries will not provide the power; the solar will go straight to the inverter or load.

Now with regard to cycles… the number of cycles on LFP batteries is theoretically high enough that calendar wear is more important to worry about than cycles.

Thank you so much for your reply. Yes. Assuming you ACTUALLY get 1000w from the solar panels, not just the rating. So that means as long as I keep my PV production higher than load, the batteries are untouched?

Hi,

I am pretty new to DIY Solar and stuff. I'm just trying to look for the answer to this question:

Let's say I have an offgrid solar system with 1kw solar panels and some battery, but I'm pulling only 500w. I understand that I have 500w extra to either charge the batteries if they are not full or if they are full then they will just disappear. But the question I have is if I'm pulling 500w, does this 500w come from the solar panels -> battery -> load or does it come directly from solar panels. Does this use up my battery cycles? Thank you so much if you can help me to clarify this.