diy solar

diy solar

Solar System Design (should I do it?)

Y0rkie

This is my first thread so I’d like to firstly thank everyone for all of the free knowledge you’ve put out there. I’v gained a lot through reading a collection of threads on this forum.

My background
I am a software developer and am very technically minded so I always want to know all the technical details of a system.

I am now considering my options for a solar install for my house in Hampshire UK. I started out getting quotes from various solar installers to get an idea of what the installers would recommend. What I got from this process was a wide variety of opinions and drastically different quotes with the top end at £46,000! This drove me down the rabbit hole of trying to understand the different components, brands and ultimately design a system for myself to get independently sourced prices for the hardware as I can’t justify anything near £46k given the long buy back period.

System Design (core solar components)
34x TrinaS+ 425W panels (14.45kW)
1x Victron Quattro 48/15000 (12kW inverter)
1x Victron SmartSolar MPPT RS 450/200 are
1x Victron SmartSolar MPPT 250/70 (with VE.Can)
Note: I decided on Victron because I am a software developer and they have very open APIs so I can integrate this with home automation easily.

Panel Layout (North Up)
image001.png

Panel Strings

I would wire up the panels to the MPPT controllers like this:
- 18 (north facing) panels split into 3x 6S strings using 3 MPPT controllers in the RS.
- 10 (south facing) panels configured as 5S2P into the last MPPT controller in the RS.
- 3 (east) & 3 (west) panels configured as 3S2P into the MPPT 250/70 controller.

Battery Storage
For batteries I would probably go with either:
6x Fogstar ESR51.2V rack batteries (30kWh) or
7x Pylontech US5000 (31.5kWh) or
2x Seplos DIY (28.6kWh)

Rough Annual Consumption
6,600kW - General house electricity
2,400kW - Tesla charging

Estimated Solar Generation