diy solar

diy solar

Supplemental System Design Help?

ColdSun

Please forgive my novice vocabulary.

I want to design and install for my house a solar powered battery bank that will supply:

Two 120V 15A outlets simultaneously. (Think high demand devices like a small window AC unit and a chest freezer.)

For back up only, not needed to supply all day usage.

A setup I could deconstruct and take with me if necessary to a new home.

I’m thinking component-built instead of all-in-one so I can learn about solar, but I’d also like to keep it simple as possible, as this is my first rodeo. I don’t even really know what an inverter is (but I can hook one up if I can find out how). I have extensive experience in construction. (I’ve installed outlets, pump wiring, boat rigging, etc.)

What would your most simple design be for a system like this—can run two 120V outlets at the same time?

Please forgive my novice vocabulary.
No problem, that's why people post here, to learn!

A few questions:
* Does it need to be portable? Or just not permanent install?
* Do you want to power existing outlets in your home? Or is it ok if the "box" you build has it's own outlets (like a portable gasoline generator does).
* Do you need to automatically "turn on" when the grid AC goes away, or is this a thing you'll wheel into the house, turn on, and use as needed?

I'll try and help with some basic component definitions.
Most systems break down into sort of three rough areas:
* Storage: A battery bank (a way to store power for later, sort of like a gas tank)
* Charging: One or more ways to the battery bank (solar panels, a gas generator, AC power from the power company.
* Load: Some way to use the power from the battery. Since batteries provide DC power and most folks want to use AC appliances, you need to convert DC to AC. You asked what an inverter is, that's what it does. An inverter converts DC power into AC. In the US, typically 120V AC.