diy solar

diy solar

Thermal Runaway / Fire / Newbie fears and questions...please take it easy on me!

cyberfed

Hello bright minds,

I have a fundamental question that I have been to embarrassed to ask, and it has me worried every since I asked in other post about paralleling batteries and I was shown a thread where a guy's house burnt down. Like all of us I don't want that to happen! I build packs such as these: 16S LEV60 LFP in a custome box with JBD BMS.
Since I am new at building packs this was a nice easy way for me to ease into building packs, and there's a detailed video on youtube on how to put it all together. I'm working on my 5th and final box of this type, then its on to my own customer pack builds with no templates of any kind.

I am scared of and have questions about thermal runaway and well...fire!

1. In a dead short or internal short of the battery, what happens in a series connection, the battery vents yes? Is that it if its able to vent? This is for just one battery and we are assuming the BMS and breaker on the box fail/dont work. Does the pack just become 15S? What exactly happens or can happen? (I know this is very situational but please give me some examples.

2. Dead short/internal short due to the protective covering of the batteries tearing and touching --I know this is more serious now we have 2 batteries that are in a scary condition. Again lets assume the BMS/breaker fail or dont work. What happens? Thermal runaway and fire at that point?

3. Now lets assume the BMS and breaker work -- what impact (if any) would they have on #1 and #2 scenarios? In particular to the battery pack.