diy solar

diy solar

Total beginner! Are these three items enough for my basic system?

bbruneau

I have two panels (Kyocera KU265-6MCA) that give more than 500Watts of power at 24 Volts. I want to build a small emergency system that maximizes these panels and expect to "make do" with their output. I believe (perhaps stupidly) that the following two items can be the main part of my system, needing only wires, fuses, etc. Also, for a small system should I go 12V?

- ECO-WORTHY All-in-one Solar Charger Inverter Built in 3000W 24V Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter and 50A Solar Controller for Off-Grid System $365

- 12V 300Ah LiFePO4 Deep Cycle Battery, Built-in 190A BMS, 2000-5000 Cycles, Perfect for RV, Caravan, Solar, Marine, Home Storage and Off-Grid
Brand: CHINS 4.6 out of 5 stars 104 ratings | 190 answered questions Price: $1,249.99
Going with this because we are not big on upkeep, and want to keep the setup as automatic as possible.

I am such a beginner! and expect such calumny to elicit some laughs and (hopefully) educational advice

On the literal “will this work” scale it will make electricity… you’ll need two of those batteries for 24v.

If 3000W is rarely if ever used, a 12V system would probably be fine imho. I like small 12V systems because 12V lights and other electrical items are cheaply and readily available.

Personally, I’d use a separate charge controller and inverter rather than a combo unit. The price is “right” in the range of separate components, but if something goes wrong you will both not have charging and not have 120V out; if one of the separate components fails local and/or quick solutions are more attainable. A backup spare inverter is wise imho if having power is critical.