diy solar

diy solar

Which BMS for Tesla Model S Battery

TennesseeSolar

This is my first time setting up a solar system and I have run into an issue of trying to pick a BMS for a Tesla model S lithium battery. It’s the battery that at full charge is 25.2 V. From what I can understand online I need a 6S BMS. My other components are four, 345W solar panels that will be in parallel, an MPPT 60 amp controller 24V, and 3000 W inverter for 24v to 120v. I think the problem I am having most though is picking out the BMS and understanding what amperage it should be rated. Also my major reason for having the BMS on the battery is not so much for balancing out the battery but as a prevention method to prevent the battery from catching fire. So I am not looking for something like an $$$ BMS but rather something under $100 that will do the job for this. Below is a BMS I found online that might be for something like this? Can someone who has worked with these batteries and attached a BMS please give me some advice on this. A1AD86D7-B68A-4B2C-9918-6C7DF0B0644E.jpeg

Welcome to the forum.

I'm so happy to see that you're actually pursuing a BMS. Too few bother.

If you haven't procured the battery, you should probably consider DIY LFP. It's cheaper, it's safer, it has a more favorable voltage profile and a higher cycle life. It's literally better in every way. For less than the price of the Model S module, of which you can only use 60% of the total capacity if you want good life out of it (5.3kWh * 0.6 = 3.18kWh), you could build 7kw of battery with 5.6kWh of it usable.

3000W/24V = 125A

If you insist on Tesla:

The above will allow you to tap into the sensing leads of the module and add a BMS more easily.

Thanks snoobler.