diy solar

diy solar

120% System installed

ericstott

I have a 120% system, a 14kw solar grid tied system.
So I NEVER have an electric bill (well, okay $11.50/mo for the service fees).
But I am producing TONS of extra power from my system. I bought a Fiat500e and power it DAILY. (24kwh battery)
I live in Phoenix AZ with APS power. Grandfathered payment system. 2008 it was installed.

Still, even at that, I NEVER go over and actually pay for electricity. (Well, except when the house gets struck by lightning and the fuse needs replacing - happened twice!)

I would like to add battery backup, but I don't want to have to buy TWO Tesla powerwalls to charge it.

I am NO ELECTRICIAN, but have been watching a bunch of the videos from Will Prowse.

Any ideas?

Last edited:
How big is the battery in the Fiat500e? That's what I'd like to do someday. V2H is the technology, but it's not readily available yet. Will does have a video on how to get emergency power from his Tesla.

I suspect the issue is marketing folks think people want their transport charged, not use their transport to power their house in emergencies ... so no one is rushing to do it.

How big is the battery in the Fiat500e? That's what I'd like to do someday. V2H is the technology, but it's not readily available yet. Will does have a video on how to get emergency power from his Tesla.

I suspect the issue is marketing folks think people want their transport charged, not use their transport to power their house in emergencies ... so no one is rushing to do it.
It is a 2016 so it is a 24kwh battery. (ya, I know the 2020 model is a 42 kwh - which I am jealous)
I already have a 24v wall charger Juicebox 40 amp charger mounted in the garage.

I am not interested in V2H - geez, I produce more electricity from my solar system than I can use anyway.

What grid-tie inverter do you have? Some are compatible with some battery inverters.

V2H - actually, a good idea. There is your battery backup.