diy solar

diy solar

120w, 12v, panel direct connect to 5v usb attempts

Juanitto

Hi,

I'm a newbie and I want to direct connect a 120w, 5a solar panel to 5v. 3a usb to charge the devices during daytime.

First attemp was with a 12-24v controller but it get "fried" in the end (don't know why, because I supposed that the 2 usb outputs are also regulators, but seems not):

...and after get "fried" shows like this (the files in the attachement)

The second attempt was to buy these regulators: Youmile 10 piezas DC-DC Buck Converter 6-24V 12V/24V a 5V 3A Módulo de cargador USB Regulador de voltaje reductor Módulo de fuente de alimentación con cable rojo y negro de 24 AWG https://amzn.eu/d/hBSmuCM in order to split the cables from the panel and to connect, say, 4 of them (5vx3ax4=60w, the panel has max 120w), but when I tested one directly on the panel cables it get "fried"! Don't know why because the panel is 12v, 120w, so max 10A! The strange thing is that it works with a usb car charger (lighter plug) in direct connect but why doesn't also work with the regulators which I bought?!? What kind of regulators (better with usb) would you recommend to make a setup with 5-6 usb outputs direct connected to the panel? Guess it is possible since a car charger can do it!

Thanx

PV->SCC->Batt->12v to 5v DC Converter (12/24 to 5v 3A USB)
I have one on my 12v system, works fine with a battery in the set up.

If I am understanding you correctly, you do not have a battery connected. The very first thing you have to do with a solar controller is connect a battery. Some controllers will" fried" if you connect solar first without a battery.
I want to use without battery! The panel is big enough for 5-6usb outputs (I guess), as it works with lighter usb car charger for sure there are some proper dc-dc buck regulators: do you know some? So, without controller&battery, like the foldable one for e.g.