diy solar

diy solar

24v Inverter Choice - Class C RV

Colton K

Hey All,
My wife and I are about to upgrade our 2009 Class C RV and take it on the road full time to travel and work remotely. We are currently looking to add ~2000w of rooftop solar, ~10KW battery storage but I am looking for some confirmation on the correct inverter choice before purchasing.

Choices are:
1. Victron Quattro 24/5000/120-100 (Likely what we need)
2. Victron MultiPlus 24/3000/70-50
3. Ecoflow Power Kit

Large/Important AC loads include:
1. AC - No easy/soft start (but could be added) - Being in the southern states and MX it is very important to us that this can be operational at all times for our Dog's comfort/safety - Dometic Unit 13,500 BTU
2. Work Desktop/Laptop - As a video game developer I normally work on a desktop PC with 800w + PSU that normally draws 300-400w. I will likely move to a higher-end laptop for traveling (200-250w)
3. TV/monitor - LG OLED C3 - 80w
4. PS5

Ideally we could save some money and go with the multiplus but I am worried the 2200-2400w will not be sufficient, does anyone have any insight? Do you think the multiplus would be sufficient with a soft start?

Cheers,
Colton

Edit: We intend to be off-grid as often as possible

Quattro only helps if you have onboard genset which is great as 2 inputs.

Id go with a 2x120 model so you get 50a shore if you plan on being on shore sometimes, especially if just to overnight charge and leave. Also remember you can get 2 inverters and parallel them so you'd have 6000w. Something you can upgrade later if needed.

I have 4 dometics 13.5k and 15k without easy starts and they usually trip my overload on my Quattro 5000s but still work fine. Without an easy start you'll have a ton of issues.

The AC should be 1400w ish. So you'll only have 1000w for the pc and others, will be tough cooking or microwave but possible.