diy solar

diy solar

36 Volt Trolling Motor System

Ward9922

I know little to nothing about solar systems. I have a boat with a 36-volt trolling motor setup. The motor is supplied by 3 Deka flooded DC 24 12-volt deep cycle batteries connected in series. I’m looking for a system that I can connect that will re-charge my batteries during downtime (when boat is in storage). My boat is stored in a dry storage lot with direct sunlight when not in use. On average I use my boat about 2x a month, so there are multiple days (10 to 14) between uses. I’m wanting a system that will give me some charging while utilizing the trolling motor, but the primary need is for the system to get fully charged (while in storage) for my next boating activity. Looking around on the internet has giving me some ideas, but because I have limited knowledge in this field (and there is so much to consider), I want to make sure that what I’m considering will be adequate for my application. I’ve compared some types of 36-volt system, however that can get very pricey (utilizing MPPT controller) as well as needed significant amount of real estate for mounting solar panels. One video and set-up that did catch my eye was the one of yours that was posted March of last year with the Renogy Rover Boost with the CIGS Flexible 80-watt solar panel that you connected to your golf cart. Of systems that I’ve considered, this really seems to be the simplest, cleanest and most cost effective (with MPPT controller). My boat has a hard top T-top, so I have a great area for attaching the CIGS solar panel. I understand that this system only supplies 10 amps, but was thinking it should be sufficient for what I’m trying to accomplish. Outside of that, it seems that I would need to jump to a 60-amp controller system (because of the 36-volt), which (I think) would also require me to supply 36-volt solar input. This type of system really starts to get pricy and I believe would be an overkill for what I’m trying to do. Any