diy solar

diy solar

48V System for an RV

mkgolfer

Hi All,
I am a complete newbie to all of this. I am not an electrician but kind of handy. I am looking to build a 48 volt non-intrusive (not re-wiring the entire RV electrical system like folks do with Victron/Battle Born solutions...ewww) system for my RV. At the moment I have no plans for solar charging (that is for add on later) but I do want to use my Honda 2000 gas generator as a means to charge the batteries I have done some research and have found others that have done something similar. Here is what I "THINK" I need to do...please, let me know where I am wrong and could correct/improve.
  • I am looking at either the EG4 All in one 3kW inverter or the Growatt 3kW inverter. The only issue I have with the EG4 is the 120v minimum charging for solar.
  • I am looking at either the EG4 LifePower4 48v 100AH server rack batteries (2 of them in parallel) but am leaning towards the EG4 WP 48v 100AH batteries (2 of them in parallel). The server rack batteries have breakers and on/off built in where the WP do not. If I use the WP batteries, do I need to install a breaker or some kind of shut off switch between the batteries and the inverter?
  • To make thing easier, I would like the AC out on the inverter to be a 120v 30amp RV plug so I can just "plug" my RV into the inverter instead of a power pedestal. I believe to do this I need to disconnect my current RV charger because (for the most part) I will NOT be running the RV AC system from "grid power". Can I wire a standard 120v 30amp RV plug into the AC Out on these inverter units? And if I do plug into a 30 amp pedestal, I would need to shut off my inverter...correct?
  • AC input I will just wire a standard 120 volt plug for charging from my Honda 2000 generator (1600 watts continuous output) to charge my system. I suppose this charging is referred to as "grid charging"? Will this work?