diy solar

diy solar

50 amp camper, 30 amp solar kit

Bob806

I'm looking at a solar kit system and noticed it's for a 30 amp system and my RV plugs into a 50 amp shore power. Sometimes I use a dogbone plug to convert the 50 amp plug to 30 amp if the shore power only offers 30 amp service. Its a Go Power Weekender 190 system...will this work or do I need to upgrade to the 50 amp kit? I am new to this, just don't want a safety hazard while trying to save money.

What kind of "solar kit system" are you looking for?
Are you looking to gut your 50A electronics for one that accepts solar?
Or are you looking to charge your battery(s) independently?
Or?

What kind of "solar kit system" are you looking for?
Are you looking to gut your 50A electronics for one that accepts solar?
Or are you looking to charge your battery(s) independently?
Or?
Charging batteries, and powering a few outlets, camper lights, and power the refrigerator (two way fridge that runs on AC or propane).

Charging batteries, and powering a few outlets, camper lights, and power the refrigerator (two way fridge that runs on AC or propane).
Once your batteries are charged, do you already have inverters that power "a few outlets, camper lights, and power the refrigerator"?

If so, an independent solar kit that simply charges your batteries sounds easiest.

Once your batteries are charged, do you already have inverters that power "a few outlets, camper lights, and power the refrigerator"?

If so, an independent solar kit that simply charges your batteries sounds easiest.
Ok thank you. I do not have the inverter (yet). I simply have a 100 watt solar panel kit with a controller. I know that's not enough to power certain small appliances, but could be good enough for a couple days of bookdocking.

Oops...and the water pump, in case we need a quick shower. Not sure the power requirements on that, need to look it up.