diy solar

diy solar

64V 4x4 Golf Cart conversion to Lithium help

64V4X4

I have a 64v Stealth 4x4 Golf Cart I want to convert to Lithium batteries. I'm totally new to this type of stuff so bear with me. From what I have read, most 12v lithium battery packs are actually 12.8v. Does this mean I can actually use five of these 12.8v batteries hooked up in series and it work for my 64V cart? If so, Does anyone have any suggestions on the best 12.8v battery to use for this cart? Also does the same logic hold true for the 24v meaning they are actually 25.6v and I could use two of these and one 12.8v hooked up in series?

The first thing you need to do is to determine the maximum amp draw of your cart. Most of those 12v lithium drop in replacement batteries are not capable of delivering the kind of juice (amps) a golf cart uses when you step on the pedal. In fact, i don't think any of them are able to deliver that kind of power.

I have a 2013 Precedent and will be converting it over to lithium soon.. We also run an off-grid system when the grid goes down.

From my poking around and experiments with my own cart, the only two real options are to purchase a lithium golf cart pack designed for the purpose, or build your own.. and even most of the lithium packs designed for golf carts are junk and limit the cart because of the amp draw.

The first thing you need to do is to determine the maximum amp draw of your cart. Most of those 12v lithium drop in replacement batteries are not capable of delivering the kind of juice (amps) a golf cart uses when you step on the pedal. In fact, i don't think any of them are able to deliver that kind of power.

I have a 2013 Precedent and will be converting it over to lithium soon.. We also run an off-grid system when the grid goes down.