diy solar

diy solar

Adding Solar (and Batteries?) To Existing System

willis102

Hey Guys!

I recently bought a truck that came prewired with an electrical system. The truck was built by an ambulance manufacturer (although it wasn't an ambulance) and I was able to get a copy of the wiring schematic from them. Here's the battery / charging system section of the schematic:

Screen Shot 2019-11-01 at 9.00.54 PM.png

This is a little complicated, but, ideally, I'd like to use it as a starting point to add components to / remove components from instead of starting over. I have no experience designing or building solar power systems, so forgive any dumb ideas or questions that follow!

I'd like to add solar and additional battery capacity. Presently, the batteries are as follows:

BATT 1 is a Motorcraft BXT-65-750 (I believe that's a lead acid battery)
BATT 2 is disconnected (no battery when I bought it)
BATT 3 & BATT 4 are both Motorcraft BAGM-48H6-760 (I believe these are 70Ah AGM batteries)

I'm not 100% sure what my needs are yet, but I think I'm looking to have around 300Ah of usable battery capacity.

OK, so that's the background information. Now for questions:

1. Can I use Lithium Batteries? I'm ok with dropping the existing AGM batteries if necessary, but I would ideally love to keep the ability to charge off the Alternator, and have the new batteries continue to power the existing circuits that I decide not to remove.
  2. If I can use Lithium batteries, can I just drop-in-replace the existing AGM batteries in the circuit (maybe moving them inside to keep them at a more constant temp)? Do I need to do anything to protect the starter battery or alternator? Can I keep the AGM batteries alongside them for a little (70Ah usable) extra capacity?
  3. If I can't use Lithium, from what I've read, getting 300Ah of usable battery capacity probably means having around 600Ah of AGM and 600W of solar. Do I have this right?