diy solar

diy solar

Adventures in poor planning, spiteful engineering and emotional math.

Osmethne

Solar Enthusiast
Preamble:

This is a sequel of sort to this thread, https://diysolarforum.com/threads/the-quote-that-forced-me-to-go-rogue.68718/

I intend to make this a record of my adventures in solar. Comments, criticisms and questions are welcome. Well not so much welcome but I can't really stop you.

I should rephrase that. Insight is always welcome. But I'm really writing to give back to this forum.

Just some quick background on me. Not an electrician but I have a lot of experience with electrical work from a past life. These days I write software. So I'm not completely clueless here. Also, quite a bit of what I write is not the product of a sober state of mind, My best advice is to read what I've written and then ask yourself, "what would a sober person have written?".

My house over the course of a year draws about 26,400kwh. I'm starting with an incremental approach to curb this with the understanding that I'm probably going to make some suboptimal decisions and I'm trying to limit any losses. Here's my starting point.

The Inverter:

SunGoldPower IP6048.

I picked this because it's pretty cheap, $1426.50 from SGP on sale, free shipping, for some reason no taxes. I also like that it's supposedly expandable in case I want to grow this system. It's ETL listed so I think it has a chance in hell of passing an inspection. The hardware seems pretty solid. The software... well it's not completely unusable. I think I'd say it has an extreme lack of polish. Overall I'm liking it. It's quiet enough for something in the next room. It does make noise though. I'm using it to power a 5 ton heat pump, a gaming pc, a home theater, 1 refrigerator, 1 freezer among other things. It doesn't seem to have a problem with these loads but there are some things that'll reboot if the inverter switches power sources sometimes. A UPS is necessary for my networking components.