diy solar

diy solar

Allpowers S2000 PRO charging from exterior battery or batteries

SeattleSounder

Newbie here....first question on the forum....please be gentle. I've been researching DC electricity and solar setups for a while now, but am having some problems still understanding a few concepts. I'm hoping you can help me with one.

We had a "major" power outage here in Seattle recently that put a fire under my butt to get my "night time" backup power system in place. I purchased a propane generator about 10 years ago and its worked great every time the power has gone out for longer periods of time, but I don't want to run it between the hours of 10pm and 8am so as to not disturb my neighbors (houses are very close together). I decided last winter that I wanted to have a backup battery system that could run my basic appliances at night (a few LED lights, two refrigerators, and chest freezer and maybe the motor fan on our natural gas furnace). I have a 10 circuit manual transfer switch hooked up for the generator so I was hoping I could hook something up to that for the night time hours. I haven't wanted to go "full in" cost-wise and space-wise for an inverter and battery setup just yet, but then freaked out after this last power outage and purchased an Allpowers S2000 PRO on sale. Probably a stupid move since I now see that there are lots of bad videos and discussion about Allpowers units....also the fact that the first one they sent me was DOA (their customer service was GREAT and they immediately replaced it and new one works great).