diy solar

diy solar

Anyone Built A Roof Mounted System In Oregon -- Need Help With Plans & Code

Chadunca

Im looking to put a 10kw system on the roof of my shop in Linn County. Im a mechanical engineer and have a good understanding of building the rack system and how the ability to wire the system. Im trying to understand the code i need to adhere to. Has anyone have their approved planes i can use as a template. In the code i also dont see anything and a rapid shutdown system??

1718115358020.png

You would be wise to sit down with your Linn County building/planning department since they govern whether or not rapid shutdown exceptions apply and/or which other code applies. If you can't get your shop qualified under prescriptive solar, you might have to get some engineering analysis done on your shop.

You would be wise to sit down with your Linn County building/planning department since they govern whether or not rapid shutdown exceptions apply and/or which other code applies. If you can't get your shop qualified under prescriptive solar, you might have to get some engineering analysis done on your shop.

Phil -Thank you what is prescriptive solar ?? Thanks !

Phil -Thank you what is prescriptive solar ?? Thanks !
Had to look it up myself - standard vs. "this might take a while..." installation, is my interpretation. Do whatever you can to get it permitted under prescriptive!

Prescriptive installations as defined by the Oregon Structural Specialty Code (OSSC), Section 3111 are roof installations on conventional light-frame construction (such as a wood-framed house) which comply with specific criteria and do not require an engineered design. The permit fees are flat rate and permits are typically issued 2–3 business days after submittal.