diy solar

diy solar

Are these batteries usable?

dragondoom295

I picked these up from a recycler. I think they are Lifepo4 chemistry. Looks like maybe they were in a fire of some kind (rust on the bottom of each case, one melted cable). I have 6 of them. One is open and I tested the charge between a couple of the series. The batteries have a charge, but the breaker doesn't turn on the lights on front. Maybe the BMS cut power for low voltage? I cannot test the others without opening them up. The recycler said the green led lights were on when they got them. I'm new to the whole battery and solar thing. What do you suggest I do from here? I'm out of my depth I think, but if I can get some cells or use them it will be a great deal.

Attachments

• IMG_20231215_143355762.jpg
    IMG_20231215_143355762.jpg
    132.2 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_20231215_143209858.jpg
    IMG_20231215_143209858.jpg
    241.1 KB · Views: 29
  • IMG_20231215_143204172.jpg
    IMG_20231215_143204172.jpg
    200.8 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_20231215_143152880.jpg
    IMG_20231215_143152880.jpg
    329.7 KB · Views: 27
  • IMG_20231215_143148515.jpg
    IMG_20231215_143148515.jpg
    350.2 KB · Views: 33
If the units don't turn on and all the cells are above the cutoff threshold and the electronics do not appear to be fixable I would begin the process of removing all the electronics and BMS. Testing every cell with at least a volt meter, then load/ discharge test and some charging. Preferably at least one full discharge/charge cycle within acceptable voltages. Then once the cells check out, find replacement parts for all the components you removed and rebuild them. Always keeping in mind that damaged cells can lie dormant for months before going off catastrophically. I've seen batteries that underwent a controlled burn test light off again 5 weeks after the test.