diy solar

diy solar

As A Beginner Do I Buy Or DIY?

CircuitsActivated

Hello everyone. I am new to solar. I have made my introduction post and now I have questions. I live with my elderly parents on a small farm. I live on a fixed income due to being legally blind (not totally black blind). My begining goal for solar power is for essential backup or emergency power. Charge iPhones, iPad, run a CPAP machine, power or charge my handheld ham radio, maybe run an electric blanket if it is cold or a small fan if it is hot. Power the cable modem and wifi router, run an LED light. Things to keep you alive, warm, and the ability to communicate. These items would not be powered all at once, just giving examples. I have up to $1000 to invest, total cost out the door with everything needed. I have been looking in to premade solar generators such as Jackery, Bluetti, etc. I have seen some Hobotech videos where he likes them and some Will Prowse videos where he calls then flawed or even junk. I am looking for an easy solution but am willing to go the DIY route on a budget. I am open to ideas and just starting to see the vast resources of this website. Thank you for your advice and guidance.

Start with an energy audit. Decide how long you want to be able to run/charge each of those items, and add up the power requirements. This will be the basis for determining your battery and solar requirements. Use the search box in the upper right hand corner and enter the phrase “energy audit”. With that said, I urge the DIY route just because that’s my preference and it has wonderful economical advantages; however, it’s not for everyone.