diy solar

diy solar

Available capacity of solar panel array question

SolarHead

50% of people are below average. (Its a statistic)
I've been wondering something, not sure there's an answer but thought I would ask here. Something I didn't understand about a year ago when I was a complete newbie (still a newbie) was that solar panels only put out the amount of power that they are called up to produce. It all seems to be based on the load(s) at which are you trying to cover using your solar system. Before getting into solar, I kind of assumed a 300 watt panel put out 300 watts when there was sun. What I found out is, they basically sleep until called upon to produce power. Makes sense because you wouldn't want to bring a lot of power into the home if it's not needed. The inverter doesn't want the extra power unless the home is calling for it. So anyway, my question is below.